Government & Services

Contact Us

Monroe Town Hall Offices
7 Fan Hill Road
Monroe, Connecticut 06468

PHONE(203) 452-2800
HOURSMonday - Thursday

8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
8:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m.

Office of the Town Clerk News & Announcements


Tuesday, August 14, 2018 is the Gubernatorial Primary.  Absentee ballots will be available in the Monroe Town Clerk’s Office. 

The Office of the Town Clerk will have extended hours for absentee voting on Thursday, August 9th until 7:00 p.m. Persons who believe that they will be unable to vote in person on August 14th may apply for an Absentee Ballot.  Acceptable reasons for voting in this manner are limited to the following:

  1. Absence from Town during ALL the hours of voting (6:00 a.m.- 8:00 p.m.)
  2. Service in the Armed Forces (including the Service Academies)
  3. Illness
  4. Physical Disability
  5. Religious tenets which forbid such activity on Election Day

Persons with questions are urged to call the Town Clerk’s Office at (203) 452-2811 or email Vida Stone at



All dogs over the age of 6 months must be licensed by the Town Clerk annually on or before June 30th (per CT General Statute Sec.22-338). The license is valid from July 1st through June 30th. Licenses cannot be issued without proof of current rabies vaccination.

When licensing a dog for the first time, please provide proof from your veterinarian that the dog has been spayed or neutered. The license fee for a spayed/neutered dog is $8; the fee for an unaltered dog is $19. There is a $1.00 late fee per month after June 30th. If you have moved to Monroe from another town in Connecticut, please provide us with your previous town’s current license. For a $1.00 fee, you will receive a Monroe dog license and a new tag number. If you lose your current tag it can be replaced for a fee of fifty cents ($.50).

You may obtain a dog license in person at the Town Clerk's office, or by mail by sending the correct fee (including any late fees), current rabies certificate and proof of spay/neuter, (click here for application) along with a self-addressed stamped envelope to:

Town Clerk
Monroe Town Hall, Room 201
7 Fan Hill Road
Monroe, CT 06468



May 14,2018 is the last day that an elector can transfer from one political party to another and be eligible to vote in the Gubernatorial Primary on August 14, 2018.  Only registered Democrats and Republicans will be able to vote.  Please remember, if you are registered as an "Independent" you are a member of a political party in Connecticut.  You may change your registration online at or in person in Monroe Town Hall at the offices of the Registrars of Voters or Town Clerk.  Any questions, please call 203 452-2800.

Additional Links

Contact Information

Monroe Town Clerk's Office 
Monroe Town Hall - Room 201
7 Fan Hill Road
Monroe, CT 06468

Phone: (203) 452-2811

Fax:     (203) 452-2253


Town Clerk
Vida V. Stone

Assistant Town Clerk
Barbara Agee

Assistant Town Clerk 
Sandra M. Maleski, CCTC 



Office Hours:
Mon - Thurs: 8:30am - 4:30pm 
Friday:  8:30am - 1:30pm