Town Hall Offices will be closed on Monday, January 18, 2021 in observance of Martin Luther King Jr. Day 

COVID-19 Info - Age 75+ Now Eligible to Register for Vaccination 

Town Hall is open by appointment only.  Appointments can be made by clicking here.

For any additional inquiries please call Departments for Assistance.


Nature in Monroe

From the First Selectman

A Message from the First SelectmanFirst Selectman, Ken Kellogg

Founded in 1823, Monroe is an outstanding community of nearly 20,000 residents. Monroe offers award-winning schools, safe neighborhoods, beautiful parks, and growth in local business and industry. We offer the convenience of several restaurants and retail shopping while maintaining a New England, small-town charm.

Thank you for visiting the Monroe website; we continue to make more information and services available online. If you have any suggestions to improve our site, please contact me.

Ken Kellogg
First Selectman

Contact Us

Monroe Town Hall Offices
7 Fan Hill Road
Monroe, Connecticut 06468

PHONE(203) 452-2800
HOURSMonday - Thursday

8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
8:30 a.m. to 1:30 p.m.

1/26/2016 - Nominations for Monroe's Outstanding Citizen 2016

Call for nominations for Monroe’s Outstanding Citizen 2016

 A committee representing a cross-section of community life in

Monroe is calling for nominations for Monroe’s Outstanding Citizen for


The award—administered through the First Selectman’s office—

went to Deb Heim in 2015, Diane Mellon in 2014, Enid Lipeles in 2013, Karen Burnaska in 2012 and Bernie Sippin in 2011. 

Basic criteria to be applied: 

  • Outstanding achievement
  • Exceptional volunteerism
  • Humanitarian service
  • Lifetime distinction
  • Act(s) of courage
  • Philanthropic activities
  • Raising the profile/image of Monroe 

All Monroe residents are eligible to nominate candidates. The

deadline is Feb. 6. Names should be submitted by e-mail or letter,

giving a description of the candidate’s qualifications in 100 words

or less.

They should be sent to Marven Moss (at or 110 Church St., Monroe, CT 06468). 


A full profile on each nominee is to be compiled by the committee

as part of the selection process before the recipient is announced

early in 2016.


The award is to be presented at a Town Council meeting in May.

At that time a video profile of the honoree is to be premiered and a 

one-of-a-kind award to be unveiled. A reception open to the public precedes the presentations.  


Organizations represented on the task force and their


Monroe Historical Society, Karen Cardi, former president

Monroe Senior Citizen Center, Cathy Belanger    

Edith Wheeler Memorial Library, Lorna Rhyins, adult services


Monroe Arts Council, Barbara Haeger, president

Monroe Clergy, Rev. Jennie Gingras, Monroe Congregational Church, senior pastor

WMNR Fine Arts Radio, Fred Velardi and Brian Quinn

Monroe Police Department, Chief John Salvatore

Monroe Farmers’ Market: Amy Primorac

Monroe Chamber of Commerce: Ray Giovanni, past president

Internet archaeologist and historian: Kevin Daly

Member-at-large: Marven Moss